Dearest Sun

Dearest Sun,

How have you been through all these ages?  Walking to the bus stop to drop my daughter to school, I meet you almost every day. For last two days you were not there as the sky was overcast.

Today, looking at the reddish tinge on the Eastern horizon, I smiled. It looked like a child had spilled some golden glitter mixed with crimson on a blue canvas. My daughter identified about six the shades of red.

We are blessed with sunshine for almost 300 days, and take you for granted. We hardly welcome you. We await your arrival only in the winters when the temperature drop and the day drapes itself in a gray coat.

However, we cannot live or exist without you. Who are you? Why do you burn always dear Sun? Don’t you get tired?

If you did not burn there would be no life on Earth. There will be no dance of life on Earth.  I want to tell you that I admire your tenacity, uncomplaining attitude and sense of duty.

I love the way your golden fingers touch the Earth to make it bloom. It is an everlasting love affair which creates life.

From today, we will greet you every morning with a smile and say thank you when the purple twilight dances in the West. I will acknowledge your presence in every blade of grass, flower or tree I observe.  I will see you in rivers, seas and oceans. When I eat, I will notice the sunshine in every crumb.

And at night we will send a little prayer to you on the other side of the globe. God bless you dear Sun, and fulfil all your wishes!

 

6 thoughts on “Dearest Sun

  1. I like your reflecting style….and appreciate your sweet and generous reminder to live our day in a state of gratitude which you so beautifully put:-
    “From today, we will greet you every morning with a smile and say thank you when the purple twilight dances in the West. I will acknowledge your presence in every blade of grass, flower or tree I observe. I will see you in rivers, seas and oceans. When I eat, I will notice the sunshine in every crumb.
    And how special is – “I love the way your golden fingers touch the Earth to make it bloom. It is an everlasting love affair which creates life.”
    Thank you, Susie♥

  2. Many thanks to you, Susie. Yes, I really felt we should appreciate the Sun, which is the reason for our existence. I am happy you liked the way I wrote. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

